Our History. One Strong Vision.
Good Shepherd Lutheran Church was founded in 1955 as a mission congregation of English Lutheran Church in La Crosse, with 239 members led by Pastor J. L. Mattes.
Initially located in a small house chapel built for the congregation on South 27th Street, Good Shepherd moved to its current site on the corner of Birch Street and Mormon Coulee Road in 1961. The church building was expanded in 1982 to include the current sanctuary and additional office space, at which time the old sanctuary became the fellowship hall.
In 1995 the fellowship hall was renovated, expanded, and renamed the Mattes Center. In 2006, the parking lot across Birch Street was beautifully paved and the Columbarium and Prayer Garden was dedicated.
Today, Good Shepherd Lutheran Church is a busy, vibrant, and exciting church filled with lively worship services, activities, and programs for all ages. The invitation to join Good Shepherd is open to all seeking a more faithful and vibrant relationship with God. Come see for yourself. All are welcome in this space.
- Good Shepherd was founded in 1955.
- The church moved to its current location in 1961.
- The Mattes Center was renovated and expanded in 1995.
- The parking lot across Birch Street was paved and the Columbarium Prayer Garden was dedicated in 2006.